Banking news

The EU called to vote on the reopening of its borders to third countries, USA excluded

European governments have until Tuesday noon to decide whether or not to open the EU’s borders from July 1 to travelers from around fifteen third countries whose epidemiological situation linked to is considered satisfactory, which excludes in particular.

EU countries must vote by a qualified majority on this list, drawn up by the ambassadors on Friday evening, we learned on Monday from diplomatic sources.

In the list of visitors admitted to the EU and the Schengen area are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. China is also part of it on condition of reciprocity, that is to say if it welcomes travelers from the EU to its soil.

Brazil, United States, Russia, India, Turkey and Israel excluded

On the other hand, the United States, the country most affected by the Covid-19 pandemic with 125,709 deaths and 2.53 million cases listed, is excluded from this list, which is intended to be updated every two weeks. Brazil, Russia, India, Turkey and Israel in particular are not included.

Voting on this recommendation is not binding and EU countries have sovereign control over their borders. But they agreed on the need to coordinate because of the freedom of movement within the Schengen area, where the restrictions decided to fight the pandemic were gradually lifted.

For this list to be officially approved, it will have to be voted by 55% of the Member States, representing at least 65% of the total population of the EU.

Non-essential travel to the EU has been banned since mid-March. This measure must be gradually lifted from July 1, favoring visitors from countries whose epidemiological situation is similar to that of the EU, where the pandemic has subsided, or even better.

The development of […]

Read more on“data-reactid =” 28 “>